Tub on the Run

Sibling Pride

6 Comments

I have wanted to whoop and squee in the run up to this, but I am SO proud of my little sister!  She rocks!

Why does she rock?

Not long after I started Couch to 5k, so did P.  She successfully completed it, and, unlike me, stuck with it.  She then ran a sub-30 minute 5k not too long after completing c25K.  I won’t lie – I am completely envious of her speed.

After a bit of an injury where a trail run somewhat damaged her knees (but not her running spirit), once the scabs had healed, she headed back out again.

Ouch!!

Then came a suggested post on facebook for Run Highclere in aid of Parkinsons UK.  Highclere Castle, for those (like myself) that don’t know, is where Downton Abbey is filmed.  She had just finished a challenge of doing a month of no snacking, and wanted a new challenge, so she signed up, set up her Just Giving page and got training.

Today was scheduled to be the day, but sadly P was informed that because of the adverse weather conditions, the ground was not suitable to run on.  Very disappointing, but it can’t be helped.  Not to be put off, and not to let down the people who had kindly donated, P went out for her 10k run as planned today, and recorded an amazing 1 hour 11 minute début!  I am so chuffed for her, not only for her time, but also for raising the money that she has (over £100)!  She’s also said that if and when Run Highclere is rescheduled, she’s going to run it and try to beat her time for today!  Fantastic!

So I’m all “beam, beam, beam, proud, proud, proud”!

Now P… PLEASE go and buy some proper running shoes!! 🙂

(And apologies – this feeble post really doesn’t get across just how proud I am!)

 

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

6 thoughts on “Sibling Pride

  1. Well done to your sister 🙂

  2. I love this! My sister has got 5km under her belt and is aiming for 35min 5km (she’s currently 39mins) and I adore going out with her and supporting her..& like you with your sister I just hope she gets some proper trainers soon!
    It’s great to enjoy the journey together, I remember when I was pacing the same 5kms as her and keep over loading her with info and tips (some she takes..others she pretends not to hear). Her effort with the 10km run is excellent, that’s a great time and fab that she did not let the cancellation stop her.
    Plus that’s a lovely picture of you both! 🙂

    • Aww thanks Katie! She does read the blog, so I am sure she will be touched by everyone’s kind comments. I hope your sistrr makes her 35 min 5k! Perhaps we should send both our sisters off to Sweatshop or somewhere at the same time! 🙂

  3. What an inspiration she is. Those knees look painful 🙂

    • 🙂 she has inspired a couple of her friends to start too. Yeah, her knees were quite bad and took some time to heal properly, but right as rain now!

Leave a Reply

