Tub on the Run

What a difference a year makes

13 Comments

I haven’t tracked my weight much lately, and I haven’t tracked my measurements for even longer (why hellooooo denial!).  After hunting for my USB stick, I found that the last time I took my measurements was last May.  I looked like this:

Tubontherun

With some trepidation, I stepped on the scales.  After fainting and scraping myself off the floor weighing in, I dug out the tape measure and took my measurements.  The verdict?  Over two and a half stone heavier now compared to this time last year (when I got down to my lowest in two years – 15st 13lbs).  I’m currently sporting a mass of 18st 9lbs.

I’m nearly back to square one.  Probably back at square one in some respects.  While my weight is not back to its highest (quite), my measurements are higher than they were in March 2012 when I was at my heaviest.

I took some new photos, and took stock of where I am.  The last few months has seen me spiral out of control, despite not being as stressed as I have been in the past.  I dread to think how much junk food I have munched through since Christmas, stuffing my face while I contemplate why I do this to myself.  I am even beginning to experience some new-to-me symptoms of a poor diet, including flaky skin and facial eczema.  This is what a high fat and high sugar diet is doing to my face…

Bad diet bad skin

Gooooorgeous!  Spots and flakes ahoy!

Strangely, I don’t feel soul destroyingly low as I have in the past.  I’m not entirely sure why.  I just feel like I have got to the point where I have realised that I must treat myself with a bit more respect and have a bit more love, and getting all miserable and down is counter-productive.  Berating myself for the numerous “new leaves” I have attempted doesn’t really add anything positive to my state of mind, so I’m not going to bother.

I haven’t quite worked out where I am going with all of this today, but I thought it was about time I checked in with my weight.

It feels good to get some ramblings off my chest though.

 

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

13 thoughts on “What a difference a year makes

  1. Am sure you will work out what that next step will be, until then, count the good things, health, family, job, etc etc oh and us bloggers! We are all here to support you when that decision. X

  2. In a similar position myself. After getting quite fit last summer (fit enough to run a sub-19 min 5k!) I decided I deserved a ‘Christmas break’ – which I’m still on!! I just got comfortable (and lazy) and here I am now, nearly 2 stone heavier than I was only 8 months ago. That extra weight has impacted on my health (I’m asthmatic) and on my mental state (It depresses me to know I’ve failed to achieve what I want). So #juneathon is going to be the kickstart I need. Having already done about half a dozen -athons, I know how good they can be to trigger that feel-good factor that maybe will get me motivated again. Good luck in your brilliant efforts!

    • Thank you! And Wow! Sub-19 5k is amazing! It is a bit of a vicious circle with the weight gain thing. I am also hoping that #juneathon will get me back on track of blogging more regularly as well as exercising.

  3. I’ve gone a few steps back too and it’s hard to get started again. Fingers crossed we both manage it 🙂

  4. Arghhh I wrote you a long message and it got all deleted! 😦
    Anyway what I was trying to say is it’s lovely to see your pretty face and don’t worry about the sugar spots..when I blip and eat sugar I come out exactly the same!
    Weight is just a number…being less stressed and more happy is way more important!!! I like my weight and fitness but I hate the time, planning and effort that goes into it..I’m not a stick or athlete but to maintain this average level it’s almost a blimming part time job as I’m not naturally slim.
    Stay lovely and happy and do what’s best for you! 🙂

    • Argh I hate it when that happens! But thank you for taking the time to post a second comment 🙂

      I am beginning to think that sugar is definitely the enemy of my skin – it is good to know I’m not the only one though!

      I think that is kind of where I am at – it is just a number, like you said and I think that is why I am not feeling too down about it all. You do so well with the planning and doing of it all though – I quite often read back through your blog for some motivation – you’re quite the inspiration 🙂 x

  5. What a lovely lot of comments. And I echo them all. Well done for having the courage to take stock of where things are at. You can’t move forward if you don’t know which direction you’re facing, right?
    AND… you are never back to square one.
    You might have fallen off the bike along the journey, but you’ve been to new places, seen new things, and learned new skills along your journey.

    You are not back at square one.

    But I get the impression, you didn’t need me to tell you that.
    Glad to sense the positivity that goes along with this post 🙂

    • I am very lucky to have a lot of kind readers who leave me lovely comments 🙂 so thank you!

      I am glad the positivity cam across as I didn’t want it to be a doom and gloomer.

      🙂

  6. I’m so pleased it’s not just me!!! I never thought to blog before but I think it will help me through the stress of low cal dieting. Logging the change and reading others points of views, we can do this!!!

Leave a Reply

