Tub on the Run

I am off to the #SWBlogSocial in June

14 Comments

One of the things that I wanted to do this year was to attend a blogging conference. I had originally put down for the Cybher conference which was due to take place at the end of May. I had spent a long time reading posts on last year’s conference, and I was really looking forward to learning all sorts of stuff. Sadly, Cybher was cancelled this year. There have been a couple of other blog conferences in London that I could have gone to, but I didn’t book in for any.

Then, I started looking for conference type things a bit closer to home, and came across #SWBlogSocial, which is being held in Exeter on Saturday 7th June.

I am really enjoying blogging, and I like learning new things and meeting new people (once I get over my initial nerves!).  This is somewhat out of my comfort zone. From the tweets I have seen so far, most, if not all of the attendees are fashion and beauty bloggers, all of whom have more style in their little finger than I have in my entire body :-). However, I am really looking forward to going and learning whatever I can. Like Matt has said to me, even if it is fashion or beauty oriented, there will be things I can learn and take away from it.  And who knows, maybe some style sense might rub off on me and I will be forced to give up my uniform of plain tops and black jeans! 🙂

It will be a fun day out, it will be great to meet more bloggers and there will be cocktails which automatically make the world right!  Now I just have to work out my Juneathon plan, factoring that in to account (and the cocktails.  Must not forget cocktails).  Anyway, this is me…

A cultural Tub

A cultural Tub

Have you ever been to a blogging conference/meet up?  Any tips for me?

If you’re local, are you going to SW Blog Social? (if you are, please say hi! It’ll be lovely to meet you!)

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

14 thoughts on “I am off to the #SWBlogSocial in June

  1. oooo… enjoy!

    Never been to one, so no tips though. Except enjoy your cocktails!

  2. Really looking forward to meeting you next week and I hope you enjoy it! There are lots of non-fashion and beauty bloggers by the way 🙂 x

  3. I’ve never been to one but I hope you have fun.

  4. Hello – new reader as I found you via the Linky thing .. can you tell I need this event to help me learn more about blogging?! I am also not a fashion or beauty blogger and was starting to wonder if it was going to help but having seen so many friendly people tweeting and blogging I think it’s worth a try ..!

    Hope to be able to meet you and chat – perhaps in the cocktail area?! 🙂

    • Hi Emma! Thank you for commenting 🙂 I know what you mean but it seems there is quite a range of bloggers going which is good. As my husband said though, even if it is more relevant to one area, there will still be things I can take away from it, even if it is just inspiration!

      Hope to meet you there and have a natter over cocktails (and maybe an amazing burger if Urban Burger are catering! 🙂 )

  5. I’m going too. I only started my blog at the beginning of May so I’m a total newbie! I’ll be totally out of my comfort zone and am slightly worried about the fashion and beauty bloggers as i’m a total farm girl who lives in wellies and mainly has straw or horse food in my hair!
    See you there! xx

    • Ah that is cool! Thank you for commenting 🙂 don’t worry about the fashion side of it! I am completely functional over fashionable. We will pick up some great tips and the schedule looks great! It will be lovely to meet you on Saturday! x

  6. Hi. I’m going too. I only started my blog back in March so still very new to the blogging scene. I’m really looking forward to picking up some advice and meeting some lovely new people. See you there 🙂 x

  7. I missed this but I did spend the weekend meeting an Australian blogging friend who came over to Devon just to see me while visiting her son in Paris. A SW blog meet would be fab – if I wasn’t shy!

    • Aww that was nice of her! I am not always the most outgoing of people, but it really was good, and not hard to get chatting with other people. I would definitely recommend it!

Leave a Reply

