Tub on the Run

My Elevator Pitch – Whole 30 here I come!

20 Comments

As I mentioned in my post yesterday, I have been thinking about my diet lately, both in terms of what I eat, and weight loss strategy.  I have to admit, I miss Slimming World a little bit.  But… I like going weekly, but I don’t want to weigh in weekly at the moment.  I am also acutely aware that I get fed up of people asking each week about how to make “Slimming World Chips”, or “Rice Pudding” or “Scan Bran Cakes”, and that they aren’t motivated/too busy/can’t find anything to eat, and all I want to do is shout “haven’t you tried googling it?! or even looking in your book!?”.  But then I am that person (though I don’t ask about how to make proper chips or another Slimming Worldified foods). There are always plenty of excuses.

What I have come to realise quite recently, is that I am almost certainly addicted to sugar, and this has got out of hand lately.  I’m actually surprised it has taken me this long to work it out.  Sweet stuff totally derails me.  I’ve experimented at work a little bit – if I can’t see it (i.e. cakes or sweets are in the cupboard), I don’t want it.  But as soon as I have got a taste for it… well…  Did you ever watch Gremlins?  While I can be fed after midnight, exposed to sunlight and water (thank goodness!), I really think I might need to stay away from sugar.

Michaelangelo had pizza, Garfield had lasagne, Monterey Jack had cheese.  I have sugar. (Yes.  I am an 80’s baby, in case you were wondering).

So as I have been pondering on my diet options lately, I have realised that I need to kick this issue that I have with sugar.  It’s a crutch that I use to pick me up from an energy slump mid-afternoon, to comfort me when I am low, feed my depression and my boredom.  Offer me a choice between starters and desserts, desserts win every time.  Demolishing multiple bags of Haribo in front of the TV?  No problem!  I’m your girl! (And let’s not limit it to Haribo.  Let’s not forget chocolate, marshmallows, biscuits, wine gums, flumps, sports mix, fruit pastilles…. You get the idea!)

My focus has been on trying to find a way of eating that helps reconstruct myself.  A nutritional reset, if you will.  Something to help get me started back on the right track.  My reading has lead me towards the Whole 30 programme.  From what I can understand, it is a paleo diet – no grains or processed foods.  It is stricter than the standard paleo framework – no paleo pancakes etc, just whole, unprocessed, natural food.

Tub on the Run | Whole 30

It is just for 30 days, but the idea is to take out all of the unprocessed crap and reintroduce it slowly at the end of 30 days to see how your body responds.  Details about the programme are freely available online, though you can buy the book if you want to know more.  I’ve read a lot of the testimonials on their site, and also have a good hunt through the world of Google.  Bloggers that I follow have also documented their experiences, which have always been positive and have helped me make my decision.

What am I hoping to gain from this all?  A couple of things:

  • Making significant inroads into breaking my problem with sugar
  • Learning more about what I truly benefit from and what does me harm.  I know that milk is not my friend, and that I have to be careful about how much dairy I eat, but I don’t know about gluten
  • I won’t lie, some weight loss would be nice!
  • I’d also like to see if some of the skin problems I have are linked to my diet.  I imagine that they probably are

I am not expecting this to work miracles, though I am fully expecting it to be a difficult couple of weeks to start off with.  Nearly everything I have read indicates that the first two weeks are the hardest, with headaches, mood swings and EAT ALL THE THINGS.  With that in mind, I am trying to plan as much as possible.  I am even planning to spend my day in the kitchen on Sunday, batching cooking things for the week ahead – our food bill is going to be higher than normal, so waste not, want not!

I’ve created a Pinterest board of recipes, inspiration and resources which I will be adding to, and trying to keep on track.

I have a clear 30 days coming up, which I am setting aside to complete the Whole 30.

I’ve never gone grainless before – wish me luck!

Have you completed a Whole 30 before?  Any tips or favourite recipes?

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

20 thoughts on “My Elevator Pitch – Whole 30 here I come!

  1. Good luck! I’ve looked at The Whole 30 before, but I’m not sure I could stick to it. I’ll be interested to see how you find it. I’m rubbish with sugar too, and the worst thing is, I don’t even really like sweets/chocolate/etc. But if it’s in the house, I have to eat it all! When I’m at work I’m now much better at avoiding stuff that comes from a wrapper and unless it’s been homebaked I’ll happily leave chocolate cake alone!

    • Thank you! Likewise, if it is in the house I will just eat it for the sake of it, and out of sight out of mind doesn’t work. It isn’t helped by the fact that we live in the middle of town and opposite a Tesco, which is like our extended cupboards.

  2. I’m also pretty addicted to sugar,I think. This June I have cut out all sweets and chocolate bars (basically my unhealthy snacks) but I’ve not denied myself pudding if we go out to eat 🙂

  3. Good luck. I have never followed a proper plan like that, but I can see how the structure would help.

  4. Auww Steph – Best of luck! You can do this..I’ll be looking forward to reading your updates 🙂 & sugar..
    Well..
    You are not alone..I was (and still am a bit) addicted to sugar..I cut sugar for a few months and then slowly sweeter/naughty things have just crept back in..I do try and make as many at home alternatives as possible but it’s hard..For example: bad day? Sugar – Stressed? Sugar – Tired? Sugar..
    I used to think ‘Well I’m a healthy weight, I selom drink and I don’t smoke..I’ll just eat cake’ and I know I’m not alone!
    I’m on a bit of a reset right now and have been for 4 day’s..although I had a mini blip this AM with choosing the wrong breakfast which sent me on a sultana sugar fix!!!
    I’m sure your well aware but just encase your not..Naturally Leah has a lot of information on Whole 30 and seems very helpful? & I’ve read many reports with consistent weight loss/increased energy etc so I have every faith your going to do great! Oh and do update on the skin issues, I’d be really interested as I looked a little like a teenager last week..(not in a young and sassy way!)

    • I am SO glad it isn’t just me that did the “I don’t smoke or drink” justification. I swear that is my downfall in terms of justification.

      I would say it is strange that the sultanas sent you off on a sugary blip, which I guess is a good indicator that you were really de-sugared 🙂

      It was Naturally Leah that I first heard about the Whole30, and I was really interested in the series that she did where other people guest posted/were interviewed about their experience. I think that was around January, but I didn’t feel I was able to commit to it at that point.

      I will definitely keep you posted on the skin issues! I am planning to get the camera out tonight/tomorrow morning and take some start point pics! 🙂

  5. I’m so over the restrictive diet thing because I find it just makes me crave and ends in feeding frenzies. Really, I’m like a shark. There was a lot of success with cutting out processed carp though, cooking from scratch, natural ingredients, blah, blah, blah. My weight was better, my skin was better. Really need to get back to that because changing jobs has made me lazy.

    • That’s fair enough. I am going to try and ride this one out and see where I am in 30 days. I know it isn’t a long term sustainable diet, and it isn’t a way that I would like to eat all the time, but I really want to redevelop some good habits – like you, I need to get back to proper cooking.

      Changing jobs always makes life a bit crazy, even if you stay in the same company! I certainly felt that way last year when I moved into a different role.

  6. Hahaha it’s to funny reading this!!!! It’s like my life in paper. We are secret eaters haha. ” hmm better go shop and collect the 3 bags of junk I’m gonna have for the week( demolished in the one night) cough”

  7. Pingback: My #Whole30 results | Tub on the Run

  8. Pingback: Whole 30 Eve and Janathon Day 4 | Tub on the Run

Leave a Reply

