Tub on the Run

Whole 30 Days 1 to 4 round up

10 Comments

For the fear of bombarding the internet with rambly update posts about Whole 30, I have decided to write a little bit about my week each day and post it on the weekends.

Day 1

It wasn’t too bad at all, despite some exceptionally poor planning on my part.  I weighed in, measured myself, and then inflicted the same upon Matt.  Matt is loosely following this with me, but not to the letter.  I made it very clear to him that I am doing this for me, and if he wants to add some pasta/rice/bread/dairy/whatever in, then he is very welcome to.

The food today was dull (see: poor planning), but a quick trip to Tesco sorted us out for the next couple of days.  In myself, I don’t feel any different, but it has only been one day.  I’ve battled a headache for most of the day, but I think it is too early to be blaming it on a sugar withdrawal.

Today’s food was a Nakd bar for breakfast coupled with some nuts (I turfed out the Brazils though… blurgh!).  Lunch was an egg with some leaves and balsamic vinegar, and tea was chilli coated chicken with sweet potato and a side salad.

Day 2

Right now, I am thinking “what’s the fuss about?”.  Breakfast was a hard boiled egg and some cherry tomatoes, lunch was chicken salad, and tea was homemade burgers (possibly the best I have ever made) with sweet potato chips and a side salad.  I have had another headache today, but then the weather has changed quite a bit and I occasionally get pressure headaches.  I slept amazingly last night, but again, it could be because it was cooler.

One thing that I have found irritating today has been the response of someone at work.  They don’t approve of the Whole 30, despite never having heard about it before.  It is doomed.  Plus, don’t I know that it takes 66 days to form a new habit?  I had to bite my tongue if I am honest.  Ultimately, this is my choice, an informed choice at that, and I want to do something positive for my body.  If this helps, even just a little, I will have achieved what I wanted.

On a happier note, Nom Nom Paleo arrived in the post today, so I am about to sit down and work out what next week’s food is going to be.  Goodness knows I need the inspiration!

Nom Nom Paleo Tub on the Run

Day 3

Something delightful to report…  My dandruff that I thought was clearing nicely is back.  I am not the happiest bunny in the world.  I am also feeling tired today despite sleeping well last night.  Yes, it is Friday, but this hasn’t been a particularly difficult or stressful week, so I think it is more “blurgh” feeling.  I’m tres articulate, I know.  I am feeling a bit cranky and hungry.  Food has been uninspiring – egg, more salad, chicken kebabs with sweet potato.  Roll on tomorrow when I can get out shopping and get something interesting together!  I haven’t had a headache today though, so small mercies 🙂

Day 4

I woke up really tired and promptly decided I was going to go back to sleep again.  I slept soundly both times though.  When I dragged my carcass out of bed it’s probably a good thing that Matt had already escaped to the living room, as I felt grumpy.  Proper got out of the wrong side of the bed grumps.  According to the Whole 30 founders, it seems that days 4 and 5 are “kill all the things” kind of days.

I am pleased to say that the bad mood wore off relatively quickly, probably around the same time that I smelt breakfast cooking.  Matt had nipped to the butchers and got some of their sausages and bacon.  Bacon seems a bit of a controversial meat on the Whole 30, but I think our local butchers sell compliant bacon.  The sausages are 100% meat, no crap.  It was a great breakfast!

Matt went to see his mum today, so I was left to potter around to my heart’s content.  There were some chores that I never look forward to, like changing the cat litter.  Usually I procrastinate (oh look… Tank wants fussing, let’s amuse the cat), but this time, I just got on with it.  I can’t tell you how unusual that is for me, I normally have to nag myself into doing something.  I feel like it has just been a little bit easier to get on with the mundane today.

I took a few minutes to compose a shopping list and then headed out to our local whole food/natural shop.  I picked up most of my produce in one, but needed coconut flour from another.  My mind blows a little bit in these shops with all the weird and wonderful products that they sell.  In the second shop, I had a lovely neck and shoulder massage – gotta love a little bit of random!  I left feeling like I was walking on fluffy clouds, but quickly realised that, alas, the fluffy clouds were raining quite heavily outside.

A trip to the butcher and the greengrocers followed, and approximately 10kgs of weight was then hauled back up the three flights of stairs to our flat.  We’re all set for a cook off tomorrow!

I crashed a little bit at about 5pm and almost snoozed off, but I fed the cats instead, then cracked on with tea.

All in all, I don’t feel too bad, though I would like a hot chocolate, some chewing gum or Coke Zero/Diet Coke.  I’m not really craving anything except for those three things.

 

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

10 thoughts on “Whole 30 Days 1 to 4 round up

  1. Well there’s nothing more motivating than a whole bunch of people who want you to fail.

  2. I always love getting new recipe books to get ideas for new meals. Hope it continues to go well for you.

    • Thank you 🙂 I love having some quiet time with a new recipe book too! I have spent the afternoon making stuff from it for the next couple of weeks. Pooped now!

  3. Following this with interest keep reporting in I might join you!

  4. Interesting. I always buy all my meat from the local butcher because I know it all comes from farms nearby.

  5. Keep up the good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

