Tub on the Run

#Whole30 Update – Days 9 to 11

13 Comments

Generally speaking, I have found the last few days challenging.  I’m trying very hard not to go down the comparison route, but I’m not feeling the “OMG THIS IS AMAZING” benefits of Whole 30 yet.  That’s not to say that I won’t (or might not), but I am grumbly.

Day 9

This is the day that we shall call “The Day of Unrelenting Cravings”.  I’m wondering if my unconscious has finally caught up and is now in a realm of self-sabotage.  Thankfully, my overriding thought is that I am nearly a third of the way there.  Of course, this thought itself is surrounded by wafty images of sweet things and carbs.  The thing is that while I want something sweet, I have twigged that I don’t actually need anything sweet.  However, my observation of evening TV at the moment is that there is a huge amount of food advertised.  I don’t think I have ever really noticed before.  From Kinder egg bar things to Maggi seasonings, there’s all manner of processed crap being thrown about on the screen.  Needless to say, this has not helped my mood particularly.

Day 10

This passed with no noteworthy points to be honest.  We had meatballs from Nom Nom Paleo and they were good.  I am glad that I have batch cooked so much, as the urge to give in to a takeaway has been strong these past couple of nights.

Day 11

Woo!  I’m over a third of the way in!  I have noticed a marked drop in my salad eating and a sharp rise in my nut consumption.  I’ve swapped Cadbury’s for cashews it seems.  I am also wondering whether my love for cashews is beginning to cause my tummy to be upset, as for the last couple of days things haven’t been right.  It’s time to up the veggies and drop the nuts again.  Matt and I went to a wedding reception this evening.  I will admit, I was dreading the food aspect of it all.  We made sure to have tea before we went out (cauliflower mash and pork and leek sausages), which definitely helped to stave off any “feed me” feelings.  Little did we know that it was a BBQ, which was made with proper meats (rather than processed rubbish).  I didn’t indulge though – while they looked and smelt amazing, I wasn’t actually hungry.

I’m really hoping that this mopey, miserable and cantankerous stage passes soon, as I am getting a bit bored of being grotty.  My skin is also still breaking out and crappy (though it could be normal hormonal stuff).  The food is still good and tasty though!  Silver linings and all that!

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

13 thoughts on “#Whole30 Update – Days 9 to 11

  1. You are doing amazing, keep it up

  2. Sounds like ur will power is loads better than mine Hun. Total fail today

  3. You are doing great 🙂

    Oh how I love grumpy cat too!

  4. I don’t watch TV much so I don’t notice the adverts. It seems the problem with restrictive diets is always going to be cravings and the results depend entirely on your willpower or lack of…

  5. Oh no! Poor you with the TV ads! Time to get up and tidy up/go to the loo during breaks perhaps to avoid the worst of the adverts rubbing it in your face?!

Leave a Reply

