Tub on the Run

Nearly half way through #Whole30 – Days 12 to 14

6 Comments

Hurtling towards the mid-point of the Whole 30 now!

Day 12

Apparently Day 11 is meant to be the worst day, and the day that most people fall off the Whole30 bandwagon according to the Whole 30’s website.  I have to admit, I didn’t find Day 11 as bad as today.  I just wanted sweet food.  Not just some sweet food, but buckets of it.  Instead, I attempted some yoga.  I really like the Ekhart Yoga series on YouTube, and found the full website.  It is a paid subscription, but there are quite a few free videos there, so I started with the beginner video of standing poses.

Unfortunately I can’t get the video embedded in the blog, but this is the link, and this is part of the video:

The yoga helped to distract from the sweet cravings, and I quite enjoyed the basics.  In addition to yoga and Whole 30, I have also spent a lot of the day reading up on a paleo diet.  It’s made for interesting reading.

Day 13

Matt is suffering a bit with cravings today, though I haven’t been too bad.  Our lunches haven’t been well planned and that has been a bit stressful.  I don’t like all salad leaves and our Tesco has only stocked the ones I don’t like.  Otherwise, it’s been quite a non-eventful day.

Day 14

Woo!  Nearly half way!  I continue to feel better.  Despite the ridiculous amount of cake that we currently have in the office, I feel good.  Ordinarily, at times like this, I would be rewarding myself each time I got out of my seat with a cake or doughnut (I know, I know, this is why I am the size I am!).  I would be okay until I had the first bite, but after that, it would just be sugary carnage.  But let me explain, that first bite would have been calling my name, crying out to me from the time I got to work to the time I indulged.  Right now, they’re not even speaking to me.

I am feeling a little restricted if I am not prepared for the day.  It is surprising how much stuff is added to food when you start reading the labels, including (very sadly) some Nakd bars.  I’ve found another one that isn’t Whole 30 friendly today.  Luckily, I stopped myself before I actually look a bite this time.

While I am feeling restricted in some areas, I am generally feeling very good, sleeping well, no energy slumps, and now I am just waiting for my skin to realise we’re on  a roll here and improve too.  I’m also really looking forward to meal planning the next two weeks.  This weekend coming will see me in the kitchen, creating 5 different evening meals for us to freeze and tap in to over the next couple of weeks.

The only other thing that has happened that has been a bit odd was that I had a dream about KFC.  In my dream, Matt and I had just gone a KFC binge and I just recall feeling so mad at myself for not completing the Whole 30.  That I couldn’t be good to myself for one whole month.  In all honesty, that feeling is so real that it is keeping me going and driving me to stay on the grain-wheat-dairy-sugar free streak.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

6 thoughts on “Nearly half way through #Whole30 – Days 12 to 14

  1. Well done on making it to half way -and on resisting the office cake!

  2. I’m enjoying reading your day by day rundown of feelings. I’ve seen loads about the Whole 30 and after the wedding it’s something I’m considering trying as my cravings are rubbish at the moment and I’m forever exhausted.

  3. I know exactly what you mean – I always eat better when I’ve planned meals ahead of time, especially when it comes to shopping. I’m due for a trip to the grocery store and until then I have to make do with whatever combinations of food are leftover in the fridge.

    • That is always a danger area for me as I always end up just nipping out for takeaway! It can make you a bit more creative though, trying different combinations of food 🙂

Leave a Reply

