Tub on the Run

Plans for the autumn

14 Comments

Standing on the brink of autumn, waiting for the weather to return to more Tub-friendly conditions (i.e. cooler nights), I’ve started to reflect a little on the summer and what I need to put in place for the autumn.  It hasn’t escaped my notice that I have been more “Tub”, and again, less “on the run” lately.

Summer hasn’t really seen a massive amount of progress, aside from my Whole 30 experience.  I’ve done virtually no exercise, and I feel a bit sad that I haven’t been to a parkrun and made the most of the outdoors.  I also feel a bit sad that I can vividly remember saying in my Slimming World group at my birthday weigh in last year, that I was not going to be as heavy for my 2014 weigh in as I was for my 2013 weigh in.  Instead, I’m about 2 stone heavier than this time last year.  However, not to be all doom and gloom about it (let’s face it – that doesn’t get you anywhere!), one big thing that I took away from Whole 30 was that if I want to do it (whatever task “it” is), I can do it.  There have been so many times that I have started off with the best of intentions, sticking rigidly to whatever plan it is, only to stop half way through, but I didn’t do that with Whole 30 at all, and I am actually relieved that I can complete something.  I now need to apply that elsewhere, to my autumn plans.

Also, my Garmin is a year old.  Out of interest, I looked to see how many miles I managed to clock up since I got it, and I have clocked a rather pathetic 59.5 miles, with my best month being January (ah Janathon, you did me proud!).

So this leads me on to consider what I need to change to really live up to my promise to myself that this is my last fat summer.

Christmas Cracker 10k

I am all signed up for the Weston Athletics Club’s Christmas Cracker 10k which takes place on 7th December 2014.  I loved this last year, and I knew that I was going to sign up again this year.  This year though, I now have a time to beat.  In order for me to beat this time, I actually need to do some work, which includes getting right back on to Couch to 5k.  Enduring the music, but keeping my eye on the prize of actually getting back to running and beating my PB.

I am third in from the right

I am third in from the right

Kettlebells

While I may not have actually been doing much in the way of exercise, I have been reading quite a bit about it.  I also follow a lot of inspirational people on Instagram and Twitter, and one theme that is beginning to stand out, and make a lot of sense to me, is that cardio is no longer king.  It seems that one of the most effective ways to shift weight by exercise is actually to include weight training.  I would love to try my hand at Cross Fit, and while there is a box close to me, I don’t have the money for it at the moment (it is incredibly expensive, and more than double my previous gym membership).  Casting my mind back to when I used to belong to the gym, I used to enjoy my kettlebell classes, and I snagged a bargain some time ago in getting a set.

Yoga

As work is usually my number one excuse for not exercising, I need to make a commitment to something that helps me to cope.  Yoga is that thing for me.

In terms of frequency, I plan to run three times a week, and do a kettlebell workout twice a week.  I will tag yoga on to the end of other workouts, but take a bit more of a relaxed approach.

20140103_173536_Richtone(HDR)

Food

I had planned to do another Whole 30 in September, but I don’t have a clear diary to facilitate that.  I am away for work in early September, plus a couple of social events that include eating.  Instead, Matt and I have decided to stick to a paleo approach about 90% of the time, which will allow us the flexibility to a) get rid of non-paleo food in the house (I’m not throwing it out!), and b) maintain a semblance of a social life.  That doesn’t mean that every week we can have 10% off plan regardless, it means that we can take a view and get a balance.  I would definitely like to do a full Whole 30 again in the future, it’s just a case of finding the right time that will lend itself to the best success.

Whole30 Cottage Pie Ingredients

 

How was your summer?  Do you have any plans for the autumn?

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

14 thoughts on “Plans for the autumn

  1. Hey there! I’m very much feeling on the brink of Autumn too – I’ve gone nest mode already – it’s this UK weather I think!
    Don’t beat yourself up, just new focus, new term starting…
    On the yoga front, I did an 8week term of yoga which finished end July, and I’ll be restarting this week. I LOVED IT. I went to a class, and it was a great class as very much focused on relaxed, none-yoga-bunny (if you know what I mean) real yoga, for real women… It was an hour and a half of bliss a week… my reasons for starting were to try to help PMT, and believe it or not, but I think a once a week focus, on something so totally different, were great! If you can find a class with a teacher that is right for YOUR needs I would so recommend it!
    Love reading as ever, sorry so infrequently comment, but I so often read on my phone and don’t like to write too much from phone!

    • Hi Holly! Thank you! I know exactly what you mean about nesting! I think that because the evenings seem to be drawing in, I feel like I need to start nesting.

      Was it a beginners yoga class? There are a couple of classes around here but I have always been a bit intimidated by them (yoga-bunnies mainly). I will see if I can find something around here. Are you keeping up with more classes now, or practicing at home?

      Hope all is well with you! I guess you are about to start looking towards Christmas in the cafe?

      • It’s a general yoga for women class – but I got really lucky with the teacher! She’s SOOOOO not a yoga bunny! Maybe try one, a beginner one and see how you find it!
        I’m restarting class on Wednesday – can’t wait!
        Cafe into Christmas mode…hmm, we’re looking forwards very true!

  2. Oooooh don’t beat your self up with lack of running – I’m massively down on my mileage over these last few months and it does get you down but if we use it as a base to run more then it’s not such a bad thing?
    Kettlebells – So much love! In my opinion they are the easiest way to do weights at home etc & coupled with running I found that they made a huge difference with fat loss..
    You have fab goals Steph – Look forward to next update 🙂

    • Thanks Katie! I have to admit, I am looking forward to getting back out into the fresh air, and also swinging heavy things around! Do you follow any online videos for kettlebells?

      • I muchly prefer the cooler weather for running to be honest I found running in the heat really hard..

        I brought a DVD called ‘Ten Minute Solutions – Kettlebell’ it was about £5 & really good if your pressed for time. Also I used ‘pumps and iron.com’ who has lovely kettlebell workouts (she’s only of those sickenly good looking types but the workouts are good!). Hope that helps 🙂

  3. I am planning on starting the wholeheartedly healthy program again- I signed up last year and it was really good when I did it (from Laura’s blog, not sure if you read it? Wholeheartedly healthy)- anyway when I did it before it really helped me focus on things like sleep, stress etc.
    Also I have got a bit obsessed with the daily mile website- you can synch your Garmin and it keeps track of how many miles you have run per week/ month/ year- quite nice to see them all building up.

    • I used to read Laura’s blog but haven’t read it so much lately. I didn’t realise there was a programme though. It is good to focus on other important things. I might take a look and see what I can work in!

      I’ve not heard of Daily Mile before. I did notice that Garmin Connect has had a big revamp since I was last there though and need to explore that a bit more.

      Good luck with your autumn plans!

  4. Also would love to try Cross Fit but the money side of things is putting me off.
    Don’t be too hard on yourself. It sounds like you’ve got a great plan for how to get to where you want to be.

  5. My autumn will be pretty much like the end of my summer. Back to the calorie counting because I know it works, low carb evenings and keeping up the 100 miles a month. So far this year I’ve walked over 850 miles and I plan to have made 1200 by the end of the year. Sounds like a lot but it works out at about 3 miles a day so doable, especially with my long weekend walks.

Leave a Reply

