Tub on the Run

Time out

7 Comments

I’ve taken some unintended time out recently.  I haven’t had much in the way of positive things to write about and I have wondered whether September just needs writing off altogether.  Better things are planned for October, that is for sure!

I’ve done a reasonable amount of wallowing, and true to form, my old habits and coping mechanisms have crept back in, stealth-like.  My diet in September has been pretty poor, but I have managed to get a little bit of exercise in.  It hasn’t been consistent, but it was there and I’ll take that little bit of good.  Kettlebells are actually quite therapeutic even though I walk like I’ve lost my horse for the following three days!  I’ve snuck a bit of yoga in too.

What I have spent more time doing recently is rebuilding my bank of inspiring people, including following new people on Twitter and Instagram, reading more and trying to consolidate where I am and where I need to go, and how I get there.  Having stalked followed many of these people over the last couple of weeks, I’ve realised that I’ve become so overwhelmed by the enormity of losing the weight or getting back in to exercise that I’ve lost sight of how to get there, and stopped taking it one step at a time.  Will doing or not doing something make my situation better in the longer term?  This is the question I have allowed to get lost in the fluff of overthought.  I’ve focused on the all-consuming goal rather than breaking stuff down in to manageable chunks.

So now it is time to chunk it up!

P.S – in other news, I have written my first ever guest post over on Paleo Demystified.  I was all silly excited when they asked me if I would like to put something together, and it’s even more exciting to see it up!

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

7 thoughts on “Time out

  1. Good luck with the chunking- every journey begins with one step after all.

  2. That recipe of Paleo Demystified looks amazing Steph, yum! Kettlebells are a killer, I think they batter my legs more than anything else. I’m with you on the off the wagon food/exercise wise. Recently I’ve just not been feeling it as I’ve been so sad about Harry-Dog. But I am starting to see glimmers of that motivation back, I think small chunks are key as you say.

  3. You can only do anything, one step at a time. I, for one, am cheering from your corner. x

  4. My journey was a very long one with lots of setbacks and doubts that I could do it. One thing that really helped keep me focused was setting small manageable goals that I could hit in a short time. Every goal reached is positive reinforcement and a step nearer. Keep going forwards and you will get there 🙂

Leave a Reply

