Tub on the Run

Rose tinted glasses? Rejoining the gym

9 Comments

I have a horrible feeling that I am hurtling towards becoming one of the people I used to get really frustrated with – the New Year’s Resolutionist at the gym.  You know, the people who join shortly after New Year, pack out the gym at all times of the day, and you can forget trying to get to your regular class schedule.

Don’t get me wrong, I am all up for improvement (and I do love a Game of Thrones meme).  I’m not one to judge, I know, but I do remember the frustration at not being able to get into my normal classes in times gone by.  However, I know that I am not going to get the chance to do anything in November or December because of other existing commitments, which means that I am going to be one of those people who joins in January.

I’ve got to thinking about the gym a bit lately.  I know that weight loss is more about what you put in compared with what you do, but there are other benefits that I have come to miss.  I miss structured classes with other people.  Kettlebells at home is all well and good, but I miss an instructor kicking my bum to make sure I finish, the peer pressure, the “turn up and follow” mentality.  I miss the silent competition of spinning.  The satisfaction of hardly being able to walk after a hard spinning or kettlebell class, of getting into a pose easier in yoga.  Some reflection time has really shown me that mentally, I was in a better place when I was going to the gym (okay, I was also going to Slimming World at the same time, but I don’t feel I need to go back yet).  My ability to cope with stress was much better without doubt.

I have a feeling I might be looking at this all with rose-tinted glasses, but I’ve tried to be objective.  I even looked back at my post last year on giving up the gym.  The minimum sign up is 6 months.  If I can’t make it stick in 6 months, then I’ll break away again.

So brace yourselves Gym Goers… this New Year’s Resolutionist has plans!

Are you gym lover or gym hater?

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

9 thoughts on “Rose tinted glasses? Rejoining the gym

  1. Oh I’m a gym hater. I hate the fact I pay to go and have tried and tried but my last time I was a member was back in February, and after a particular O can’t be bothered with this workout, I quit.
    I find my weight loss is better with no exercise which I don’t understand but it’s true, that’s not to say it doesn’t make me feel better shape!
    I’m slowly slowly slowly recently getting into running outside. I’m no runner.at all. But I use my runkeeper app, and I’m trying…

  2. I hate the gym but not entirely sure why. I prefer being outside when I exercise, but I am coming to accept that in winter gyms are useful – although still can’t deal with treadmills. I am one of those annoying people who turn up to classes sporadically and then have difficulty remembering my left from my right!

    • I am the same! I never seem to be going in the right direction unless it’s kettlebells (which is quite hard to muck up to be honest!).

      • You say that – I once let go of the kettlebell at full swing. Oops, luckily we were outside during Crossfit and no one was nearby 🙂

  3. LOVE the gym, it doesn’t stop me from running outside but it does give me somewhere to train other parts of myself when I’m injured or on rest days and to do things with a trainer that I am less motivated to do by myself (resistance work, or even just stretching and foam rollering)

  4. I am not a gym hater- I like the classes but the one near me only does one a week that I can go to (a lot are in the day or when I have meetings) so I just pay when I go. I don’t like the gym bit with the machines though- I used to go and I am sure I spent hours plodding away on the cross trainer and stepper but not really doing anything- I much prefer running in the fresh air to that.

  5. I’m a gym lover. I have worked out at home but not with the same intensity I do at the gym. I love the options, the weights that go higher than I can imagine lifting and I love watching the people. Running on that treadmill, watching everyone, seeing different moves, forms, and getting ideas.
    When I don’t go to the gym I just don’t do anything period.

Leave a Reply

