Tub on the Run

My single New Year’s resolution

12 Comments

For a change, instead of setting several New Year’s resolutions for 2015, I have decided to set only one.  That one is to learn to cope with stress better.

I don’t know what has changed so much this year, but my ability to cope with stress has been poor at best, and destructive at worst.  I’ve ballooned to my heaviest weight, and my go-to coping mechanism has been to eat sugary foods in excess.

This is going to be a little bit of trial and error while I try to work out what works and what doesn’t, but exercise, working my contracted hours and keeping a journal will be good starting points, and are all things that have helped in the past.

My theory is that getting the stress under control and back to a healthy level will help everything else fall in to place.  Or at least won’t make it seem as daunting!

Do you set New Year’s resolutions?  What do you do to manage stress?

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

12 thoughts on “My single New Year’s resolution

  1. Good luck! I struggle with stress and my ability to cope when work and life pile things on for me. This is definitely something I need to work on in 2015 as well.

  2. Stress is tought to deal with. 2014 has been a year of stress for me and I need to get a grip on it too. Good luck 🙂

  3. I tend to keep my New Years resolutions simple – maximum 5, with goals throughout the year to keep me focused. I know it sounds clichéd but running is my stress reliever. This year has been a bad year for running so you can imagine the stress impact! Here’s to a great year of running in 2015.

    • That isn’t cliched at all! I have come to realise that exercise does help me, it has just taken a while to realise that there are additional benefits to exercise beyond weight loss! Happy running in 2015! 🙂

  4. This is a great resolution, I definitely need to work on stress more. I think I did get a little better this year but 2015 has lots in store for me

    • 2015 is going to be a good year! Weirdly, a lot of people I have spoken to have said that they had a really stressful year for one reason or another.

  5. I never set resolutions, but this year I might – I’m not very good at dealing with stress either. I tend to worry about all sorts of things I can’t control! Running is one of my biggest stress relievers. Here’s to a more stress-free 2015!

  6. Good luck with that. I am not good at managing stress at all- I do try and think “will this matter in a years’ time?” when in a situation, and sometimes that helps. Day to day with work I find lists help a lot, as I have a terrible memory and always worry I will forget things. I also try to have some weekends away so that I can’t work at the weekend, but then other weekends at home where I can work, so I won’t stress in the week.
    Running also helps me a lot- gets rid of the adrenaline I think.

    • I might try the “will it matter a year from now” thing. I kept losing my lists so ended up with mini post it notes around my computer screen.

  7. You so not alone with this Steph – Honestly I would be so much more content and happy if I stressed less, I create situations in my head and start worrying about them for at reason at all..
    It’s so destructive and demoralising at times, like you when I am down in the dumps I turn to sugar also…
    In 2015 we need to learn to just let go of these silly worries 🙂 x