Tub on the Run

The fruits of my labours

19 Comments

Day 1 of Janathon ticked off!

For Christmas, my parents kindly bought us a new bed frame.  The one that I bought with some redundancy money seven years ago has given up the ghost, and the mattress had been heavily modified by the use of Amazon packaging to stop the springs poking through and impaling one or both of us.  Needless to say that Matt and I have both been suffering with a bit of back pain for a few months now, and the new bed and mattress are incredibly welcome.

Exercise today was achieved in the form of breaking up the old bed, and lugging bits down the three flights of stairs, attempting some tidying and cleaning of the remaining space, and then carting the new bed and mattress up those three flights with the help of my dad and sister.

It then required assembly, which my sister and I cracked on with while Matt made tea for the workers.  Dad headed off with the old bed and new bed packaging.  Hurrah for a man with a van when that man is Dad!

As my sister can attest, a sweat was broken and I was puffed out.

Cardio in the form of stair work, and strength in the lifting and assembly of the bed.  That is what I am claiming for Janathon today!  (and it totally counts – there was physical and mental exertion)

Janathon Day 1 | Tub on the Run

I am going to attempt to be a bit more ruthless this year with throwing out of donating things that I don’t need or no longer use this year.  There is a large-scale clean up operation needed now – it is scary how much junk I kept under the bed!  At least when it is done, I can reclaim my yoga space!

How has your #janathon day 1 gone? (or, how was your day?)

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

19 thoughts on “The fruits of my labours

  1. Oh that so counts! Well done. Nice bed x

  2. Considering i was slightly hanging it’s done!

  3. Nothing nicer than a new bed 🙂 Well done xx

  4. Looking forward to hearing how comfortable the bed is tomorrow morning. Ahhh…

  5. Well done on a good start to Janathon, and sleep well tonight!

  6. I’m getting a new bed tomorrow, I was looking at one very similar to your new one! Today I started my Janathon with a lovely matcha fruit smoothie instead of christmas chocolates. xx

  7. I love exercise like that, it’s my favourite kind! Productive, sweaty and never boring 🙂

  8. Love that your day 1 was so different from all of the other Janathon posts I read! Hope your new bed is nice and comfy.
    I’m on a throw-things-out-or-donate-them mission this year as well. I’ve made a good start in the spare room. It’s amazing how much junk accumulates over the course of a year!

  9. I really need to have a bit of a clear out too- I love that sort of thing but it is hard to start sometimes.

    • The other problem (if you can call it such) is that it looks a lot worse before it looks better too, which kind of puts me off until I decide that the extra mess is temporary.

  10. You should be able to leave amazon some interesting packaging feedback. I don’t supposed it gets used for spring impaling protection too often.