Tub on the Run

Whole 30 Eve and Janathon Day 4

34 Comments

It’s T-1 for my second Whole 30 now.  That meant it was time to get the measurements – circumferences and weight.  It’s pretty miserable reading to be honest.  No good wallowing and throwing myself a pity party, things needed doing and Janathon needed completing.

For Janathon today, it was house clearing, including walking up and down three flights of stairs with heavy loads several times, and dashing, fully laden, into charity shops to declutter.  I think clutter breeds in our house.  Another sweat broke out, and that was before we went to Sainsbury’s in a mad dash to get something for lunch and top up with veggies for the week ahead.  I feel that my sitting down to blog has been well earned!

As my Whole 30 looms tomorrow, I thought I’d take a few minutes to explain why I want to go through 30 days of strict paleo style eating.  For those who aren’t sure what Whole 30 is, essentially it is stripping out all refined sugars, processed foods, legumes, grains and dairy for 30 days.  You’d think that wouldn’t leave you with much to eat, but actually it isn’t as hard as it sounds.

My reasons for doing another Whole 30 aren’t massively dissimilar to my first go at it – the control over my sugar cravings features high, and weight loss would be nice.  I just feel like my diet and spending on my food has got completely out of control and I have lost the off switch.

Anyway, my “before” photo has been taken, so let’s see what 30 days later looks like!

Whole 30 Day Minus 1  Tub on the Run

Does clutter breed in your house too, or are you good at keeping on top of it all?  I am not good at putting things away, which I don’t think helps.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

34 thoughts on “Whole 30 Eve and Janathon Day 4

  1. It’s not all about the numbers, I know, but still, I hope it goes well for you.

  2. Wishing you well with your paleo, admire your commitment to it

  3. You will be great, as for clutter .. Yes it breeds. But after a while I snap and either tidy or take it to the charity shop, then the cycle begins again!

  4. Good luck with Whole 30, sounds really interesting. Hope it goes well 🙂

  5. Good luck with the challenge – I’m trying to follow a paleo-like diet at the moment (not completely avoiding diary or pasta) so be interesting to see how it goes! 🙂

  6. Good luck, we’re all with you! 🙂

  7. Good luck with the Whole 30 (and return to work tomorrow!)

  8. Good luck, I’m looking forward to seeing your progress 🙂

  9. Clutter breeds and I spent the better part of January 1st pitching and packaging to donate. It was definitely exercise. Good luck to you! I can’t wait to see your progress!

  10. Good Luck with the Whole 30. I’m looking forward to seeing how you do.

  11. Good luck with the Whole 30. I’ve been doing something similar since March, mostly for health reasons, and it’s been great. Lots of cooking from scratch with fresh ingredients, lots of herbs and spices and no processed foods. I’ve put my husband on it too, as he needs to lose weight for his diabetes and he’s so far lost 3 stone. Plus his blood sugar is much better.
    I don’t know if these work with Paleo, but I’ve made lots of the recipes on the Dr. Hyman blog, as it’s his program that we’re following. Recipes here if you want to see if any work for you -> http://drhyman.com/blog/category/recipes/entree-recipes/

    • Wow congratulations to you and your husband! Health benefits and minus 3 stone is amazing! Thank you for the link for more recipes too – I will definitely be checking it out, and I am sure any non-paleo recipes can be paleofied 🙂

  12. We always have so much clutter! We don’t have much storage so the problem is some things belong in neat piles out, and then other things join them.Good luck with the whole foods.

  13. I do like the idea of giving the Whole 30 a go, but living with such a fussy eater as Dan I think would make it difficult and I haven’t gotten round to it yet.
    I end up putting things into piles in rooms, which drives Dan mad, but it makes me feel more organised. Eventually I get round to clearing the piles away!

    • I think it would be harder doing a Whole 30 on your own. I am quite lucky with Matt really. Matt does the piles thing and that drives me batty if he hasn’t taken out stuff for the bin (like envelopes).

  14. Good luck with the Whole 30! I am thinking of starting something similar too!

  15. Good luck with your Whole30! I have been considering doing one but decided to do a ‘January Jumpstart’ by Amazon Ashley instead, it’s a free worksheet you tick things off every day (like not eating after 8 pm, getting in at least two portions of fruits and veg, physical and mental exercise etc). It does work for Whole30 too if you’re like me and like ticking things off each day 🙂
    I cleared out some cupboards and our wardrobe yesterday, the amount of stuff was horrifying!

    • Thank you 🙂 I will have to check the ticksheet out – like a good spreadsheet, I like being able to tick things off! Do you think you will do another 21 day sugar detox? I know what you mean about the cupboards! I am dreading doing out kitchen ones evetually!

  16. Janathon and Whole30 at once.. I’m in the same boat! Daunting but exciting! I’m just found your blog, so I apologize if you have already looked into it – But I found that google “whole 30 for athletes” gave me a bunch of information on WHEN to eat, to really get the most out of work outs, while still having the energy you need. Apparently it can make a huge difference in weight loss, muscle gain, energy levels and performance.

    Keep up the good work!