Tub on the Run

Janathon Day 5 meets Whole 30 Day 1

10 Comments

As the sun sets on day 1 of my Whole 30, I am very much in the realms of “well this isn’t so hard”.

I thought I would have been more organised for breakfast, but I am not the most speedy of people in the morning and didn’t get my groove on quickly enough – so an egg and juice it was!  I’ll try to be a bit more adventurous tomorrow (meanwhile – anyone who has completed the Whole 30 – what did you eat for breakfast?  I need inspiration!).

While breakfast was small, it did the job until about 11am.  Ordinarily I would be reaching for a biscuit or chocolate (or several) to tide me over to lunch.  Lunch was a bit more organised:

 

Tea was a beef stew with sweet potatoes.  The best! (Even if it doesn’t look it!)

 

The only thing is that I now want something sweet.  I’m not hungry, it is just a habit I need to break.

I decided that there was a choice for Janathon – yoga or kettlebells.  I could do either depending on how I felt at the end of the day (grumpy would have been kettlebells, everything else would be yoga).  Yoga won, which I was a bit surprised at given it was my first day back at work.

I enjoyed the Andrew Wrenn video, so that was my choice for this evening.

What is your favourite breakfast?  Mine would probably have to be eggs benedict.

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

10 thoughts on “Janathon Day 5 meets Whole 30 Day 1

  1. Your dinner looks yum! Oddly enough my favourite breakfast is toast (something fancy like sourdough), sliced thick with butter and jam. I normally have cereal so this is a treat!

  2. Peanut butter on anything as try not to have it!

  3. While I am only on day 5 of my Whole30 (and only want to hurt all the things.. not kill them.), I’ve been doing a lot of hard boiled eggs for breakfast. I have picked up Almond butter (since Peanuts are legumes and not allowed), and celery with Almond butter is in my future breakfast list.

    Left overs from dinner – Turkey breast was this mornings. In my reading somewhere, it mentioned to stop thinking of it as Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner – and instead think of it as Meal 1/Meal 2/Meal 3. That helps some with the idea of “really? That as breakfast?”

    I was however, reading up on”Whole30 for Athletes” – and found a template on the whole30 – http://whole30.com/downloads/whole30-meal-planning.pdf

    Apparently timing of the right types of food can really help with weight loss, and with energy levels!

    • I love almond butter! I am also a fan of hazelnut butter too – definitely worth trying if you haven’t already. I might switch up my breakfasts next week to apple and nut butter, though I think that on request, I’ll be making the sweet potato quiche thing again.

      I can’t get my head out of the ‘breakfast’ mode, though having sweet potato hasn’t been as bad as I thought.

      Thanks for the breakfast inspiration! 🙂

  4. Ooooooh your stew looks delish! For the first ever time I fell off the ‘Janathon’ bandwagon (came down with flu for the first time, teamed with a snazzy viral infection)…But great work teaming with with ‘Whole 30’. Clearly you are made of harder stuff than I..
    Going to enjoy a catch up on your post’s now..
    Oh..favourite breakfasts? Sex with your pant’s on pancakes or oats and some sort of delightful topping!

    • You still fighting the lurgy? I am sure that counts as Janathon activity! I do love pancakes with lemon and sugar.

      • First day I’ve managed to stay awake all day..I was knocked for 6.
        If there was Janathon for sleeping (and various other flu elements I won’t list) I could be in a chance of winning! 🙂