Tub on the Run

Summing up my #Whole30 Round 2

9 Comments

I’m now two weeks out of my second Whole 30.

Thirty days of no sugar, no dairy, no legumes.  I’d completed one round in July last year, and had some really good results.  I was expecting something similar this time round.  It didn’t quite pan out like that though.

In terms of cravings and how I feel in myself, the cravings were really knocked on the head.  Possibly the only thing that I truly missed was a cup of tea, and I’ve since made the decision to reintroduce that into my diet.  Life without tea is not a life I want to live!  Not permanently anyway.

I was a bit disappointed that I didn’t perk up as much as I had during the July 2014 round of Whole 30.  I think it might be partly due to the time of year (roll on lighter evenings!), and also that because our diet was so poor in the run up to the start of this Whole 30, my body took longer to catch on.  Now that I’m a couple of weeks out from finishing, and my eating habits have slipped in the last 3 days, in retrospect, I perked up more than I felt I did at the time.  Right now, I’m moody, lethargic, sleeping poorly, my skin is breaking out, and I’m battling my sweet tooth again.  This is after just three days of poor eating!

Properly mid-grump

Properly mid-grump

I tracked my intake with My Fitness Pal during this round, which I didn’t do in July.  I noticed that every now and then when I thought I needed something sweet in the evening, it tended to be when I had a low calorie day.  I was also able to start identifying what causes bingeing behaviours (le sigh Nakd bars!), and I am more aware of what I need to be mindful of.

IMG_20150131_122439

We also gained much more control out of our food budget.  I am quite embarrassed to admit how much we had been spending on food, takeaway and sweets before the New Year, and one of the driving factors in doing another Whole 30 was to bring some control back to the budget.  This has been completely successful.  While the Whole 30 isn’t the cheapest way of eating, it is much cheaper than what we had been doing.

In terms of the stats, I lost 12lbs (compared with 16lbs in July 2014).  I haven’t taken my inches measurements since finishing.  Matt lost around the same as me, which he is very pleased with.  I’m pleased, especially as I think I had more than my fair share of fruit juice.  It wasn’t wholly about the weight loss, but having seen such high numbers at the start, it is a relief to be on my way back down.

I know a lot of this has been non-scale victories anyway, but probably the one I am most pleased about is walking.  Specifically, being able to walk.  Just before my sister left to go home after Christmas, we went out for a walk along the beach with my mum.  The intention had been to start a Couch to 5k type walking plan (so quicker walking bits rather than running).  I felt low about it anyway, as I was incredibly conscious of how big I had become, but the actual event was worse than I imagined.  We only managed a short distance before I had to stop.  The pain in my back and hips was excruciating.  Mentally, I was already calling Matt to come and pick me up.  I felt so embarrassed – we have walked for miles and miles in times gone by, down the beach, Exmoor, Dartmoor.  There I was, internally melting down because of what I had been doing to myself.  I cried when I got home.

Janathon Day 2

Fast forward 3 weeks and Mum and I were heading out to go shopping.  She’d parked the car about 10 minutes’ walk away, up a hill.  I was told off for marching ahead so quickly.  Matt and I have been out for walks since the end of our Whole 30 too, and it hasn’t been a struggle at all.

Walks

We’re now about two weeks out from finishing the Whole 30, and life has carried on reasonably well.  The first week and a half or so, we kept eating the same as we had been but reintroduced tea and porridge (for me) and cereal (for Matt).  This week hasn’t been as good, and we’ve slipped into old ways a little, which isn’t great.  That said, this evening, I’ve made my own mayo, cooked up a breakfast quiche type thing, and sorted out a proper lunch for tomorrow, so we’re getting straight back to it.  We’ve realised that just 3 days of eating badly is really beginning to take its toll (bad tummies, moodiness, cravings, energy slumps, poor sleep, not to mention financially).

How was January for you?  Well done to the Janathoners and Jantastic people!

Author: Steph

Blogger learning to live a healthier life, losing weight and starting to run.

9 thoughts on “Summing up my #Whole30 Round 2

  1. Firstly..
    Huge congratulations on completing your Whole30 for a second time!
    Secondly…
    Congratulations on a 12lb loss – I know it’s not all about that but it does make you feel better within yourself..
    Also it’s fab that you are enjoying walking, I love to walk and even if it’s just half a mile or a mile at lunch time I always finish feeling so much better than I started.
    I completely understand how you feel after the ‘off track’ eating as I have been changing my diet and have had a few ‘blips’ and my skin has been completely dreadful, no one wants spots at nearly 30! 🙂
    Here’s to finding your perfect balance..whatever that may be for the two of you, love that you did it together!

    • Thank you 🙂 you are so right about the weight loss. It isn’t the be-all and end-all but it definitely has helped to make life smoother and more mobile! My next step is to get back to a paleo kind of system and work out what I am to do for exercise.
      Whole 30 is definitely easier with another person – moral support of course but it also meant I didn’t have to cook different foods.

  2. Congratulations on completing your whole 30! Sounds like it was tough so you did really well to stick with it and you must be pleased with the weight loss, at least that shows that it was doing something good so was worth completing 🙂

    • Thank you! It wasn’t too bad looking back, especially when we got breakfast and lunch sorted (our first Whole 30 was a bit higgle piggle for these meals).

  3. Well done for sticking with it for all that time. It’s great that you have got back into walking too- I think the fresh air just helps as well, especially at this time of year.

  4. Well done on completing it and the weight loss. I am not sure I could do it! I really recommend the Deliciously Ella blog for some great recipes to help you meet your cravings. Her raw brownies are fabulous – just dates, nuts, raw cacao powder and maple syrup. I don’t know if you can have all of those things, but it’s certainly got to be better than Dairy Milk! Her recipe makes a loaf tin sized slab, which lasts me a week if I have a chunk every day. I find it enough to satisfy sweet toothed cravings. My version of her recipe is on my blog too from a couple of weeks ago. I also like Gwyneth Paltrow’s book – although some of it is bordering on ridiculous there are some really creative ideas for healthy recipes which taste great. Could be worth a try? Well done though, and fabulous news re the walking – you’ll be jogging around again in no time :). Most importantly don’t put unnecessary pressure on yourself though – we all get enough externally and don’t need the demons in our heads joining in!

  5. Huge congratulations on completing your second Whole 30, and for the 12lb weight loss too! I absolutely love walking and think its the best exercise out there for me, so glad you’re able to enjoy it now!

  6. I’m trying to summon enough motivation to start another round. I felt so fab the last time I did it thats its hard to imagine why I’m struggling to start another Whole 30. Looks like you had great results too.

    • I definitely struggled more the second time but it was worth it. We are just going through a house buying process at the moment and I have told Matt that we will be doing another Whole 30 when we move in, otherwise we probably would do another sooner. Plan it out and do it! 🙂